Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.22 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5.00
326
4.00
23
3.00
10
2.00
16
1.00
99

Vince T.
Mar 29, 2019
1 year ago
I have been to Schafer's twice now, and will recommend this shop to all friends/family. I first came in on another mechanic's recommendation for work on catalytic converter which was stolen twice. They used a new approach which involved a Kevlar mesh to keep it secured. The owner personally texted me to make sure everything went well and offered a free oil change on my next visit. I came back a month later for the free oil change and to get new front brakes. They inspected my entire car and gave me options on what else could be done but put no pressure like most mechanics in my past. The whole process of Schafer's from getting an appointment within a few days to great service is worth checking this place out.

Mar 27, 2019
1 year ago
I love this shop let me tell you my parents introduced me to them, I had my share of Auto Machanic shops but nothing compares to Schafers. I had a brand new transmission put in my Sorrento Schafers had my suv ready within a week I was shocked. At Schafers everyone is so polite and friendly they serve great coffee and offer great creamer plus there seating areas are comfortable. They are truly a family company that stands behind there name, I love the T-shirt’s they give out for being a valued customer. (***Lastly this is the only company that will get you a Uber Ride back home while your car is being serviced**) When your car is ready for pick up Schafers will get you a Uber to the shop to pick up your vehicle. #ProudCustomer #aintgoingnowhereelse #TeamSchafers #straightouttasouthphilly

Mar 27, 2019
1 year ago
Use them for mostly everything for my car and have been for years, never the cheapest but always dependable and quality work done.

Mar 27, 2019
1 year ago
Been going to Schafer’s for a year now, and there are no other mechanic’s I trust my cars with but Schafer’s. Great mechanics, great service, fair prices and nice people. They treat your car as if it was their car!!

Mar 27, 2019
1 year ago
Schafer's is the best! I usually only go to dealerships to have my car serviced, but the team at Schafer's has proven to me on multiple occasions that they know what they are doing. The prices reflect the quality of mechanical service and parts used (not to mention the lifetime warranty on all of the parts Schafer's installs!), and the customer service is spot on. It is very thoughtful that they call Uber to drop-off/pick-up for you. I had one issue where the antenna was ripped off of my car when they had it washed after the mechanical service was completed. Of course this was not Schafer's fault directly, and they offered to pay to have the antenna replaced without skipping a beat. I really appreciated that. Most importantly my car is running like a clock and I look forward to continue patronizing Schafer's for all of my automotive needs. Thank you Mike and Cindy and everyone at Schafer's! Keep up the great work!

Mar 25, 2019
1 year ago

Stella Buccella
Mar 15, 2019
1 year ago
I love Schafer's. They remind me of things that my car needs, they send a detailed diagnostic with every visit and they are very nice people.

Mar 14, 2019
1 year ago

Alfred Demartini
Mar 11, 2019
1 year ago
I have been a happy customer of Mike and his staff for two years. They really "get" customer service.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
Always great service.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
I've been with these group of men, and now woman, for more than 20yrs. That should speak for itself! I trust their service.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
I was driving through Philly last when my water pump started leaking. I was lucky to find Scafer's where George and Mike took great care of me!!

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
Overcharged for an inspection of 2014 car, more than I was quoted on the phone. They wouldn't lower the price more than $5 when I protested. I also kept getting upsold on unnecessary maintenance, other car products, etc, which I found annoying after 2 or 3 attempts to get me to pay more money for things I didn't need.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
I recently called Schafer’s based solely on proximity and Google reviews for an emergency repair. Two minutes later (literally - I’d called from the Walmart parking lot), I was in the waiting room with my car being looked at. The staff was respectful, professional, and efficient. They offered rides to and from the shop, and texted me progress updates along with pictures of what needed to be fixed before calling to get the work authorized. The cost of the repair was fair and ended up being less than the original estimate, and the whole operation from panicked phone call to picking up the car was less than three hours. I will definitely be returning to Schafer’s for any auto needs.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
MY friend Took his car there to b repaired, and 9 months , and $1800 later the car still wouldn't start after their threats of storage of a car they weren't capable of repairing they finally release it.. Had to tow it away to another repair shop 260 miles away only to find out the distributor was installed wrong 180 degree off... Stay away.. They talk the talk but can't walk the walk

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
Finding a mechanic who is honest, courteous and dedicated can be hard to come by. I have a car that was long overdue for a new muffler. After getting ridiculously high quotes from other mechanics, I decided to give Schafer's a shot. Throughout the whole process, the staff treated me with kindness and respect. For example, I asked if could look at the muffler while they inspected it, so they allowed me to come into the garage. They explained the problem to me in detail - they even texted me a visual breakdown to help me understand what happened to my muffler (seriously, what other mechanic does that?!?). While my car was in the shop, they sent me an Uber so I could get to and back from work. On top of all that, they offered me a free oil change whenever I need it. I've never visited an auto center before that valued their customers this way. If you're looking for a high-quality mechanic and a reasonable price, then Schafer's Auto Center is a perfect choice for you.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
This place is a rip off. Don't go here. Went here to get my car checked out for a rough start problem and they tried to get me to pay for a bunch of things that had nothing to do with the rough start. I had to press them to find out exactly what they wanted to charge me for and it turned out to be unnecessary things. For e.g., some kind of a performance boosting upgrade. I talked to an expert mechanic friend of mine afterwards and came to the conclusion that Schafer's preys on people that don't know much about cars.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
Superb service. So glad I found a place I can fully trust to take my car too. Their car health link is awesome & I like seeing pictures of what’s wrong. Friendly & even offer free uber rides to & from to get your car.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
This place is a complete RIP OFF avoid at all cost... they tried to charge me $250.00 for a $5.00 signal light. I bought the light at pep boys and installed it myself in literally 5 minutes! Again this place is a Total RIP OFF that you should AVOID completely

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
I went to this shop on a reference from a family member. My first visit was good and everything worked out well, however after that it went downhill. My biggest issue is the diagnosis fee. My car was having trouble and I wanted to use Schaffer’s as my shop however my car was old and I was between paying to fix it or just getting rid of it. I asked for them to tell me what was wrong and then I would decide what direction I wanted to go. I assumed if I had them look at it and decided not to get it fixed they wound charge a fee, which is understandable. What I don’t understand is the charge of the fee if I get the repair done. A $150 job quickly turns into a 300-400 job with the $189 diagnostic fee. For a customer who was excited to find a local mechanic it was very upsetting. I’ve also had my car misdiagnosed twice. If I am paying almost 200 to find out what is wrong I would expect the information to be right.

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
While it might be a bit on the pricey side, they make up for it in service. They offer excellent communication, whether it is in the email/text reports they use to explain and visually depict diagnoses, or it's the calls and texts to communicate when you're car is being worked on and when it's ready for pickup. They will only work on what you ask them to, and while they will identify everything, they don't seem to correct unnecessary issues without your consent. They are easy to get to, and have enough room to hold multiple vehicles at a time without worries of parking. They even offer complimentary ubers to nearby locations for those who are dropping their cars off. Overall: Price = 3.5/5 Quality = 5/5 Service = 5/5

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
I called Schafer's Auto late in the afternoon ( close to closing time) and explained I was taking a trip to South Carolina and I had an issue with my vehicle. I explained that I had called various dealerships and none could help me until the following week. I believe I spoke with Mike. He told me to bring my car in and they would look at it. I arrived, and in a matter of moments, they took care of my issue, and then washed my car. Thank You Schafer's for making my car safe again to drive. I am on my way. You guys are awesome for helping me with my dilemma. Kudos. I wish you all well. Signed, Bobby B./ A.K.A / Perry Mason

Feb 27, 2019
1 year ago
I’ve been here multiple times and some times the work was good and sometimes I needed to bring my car back for a redo and the work was shotty I guess it depends on which mechanic fixes your car. Either way it was always more than expected.

Feb 21, 2019
1 year ago

Alyssa Aumack
Feb 13, 2019
1 year ago
Always great service! Fast and friendly.

Kevin Brown
Feb 4, 2019
1 year ago
Honored the lifetime parts and labor warranty. I had a problem with a part they had installed and they towed the car and repaired it free of charge. Excellent service, excellent mechanics, excellent service.

Feb 1, 2019
1 year ago
I called Schafer's Auto late in the afternoon ( close to closing time) and explained I was taking a trip to South Carolina and I had an issue with my vehicle. I explained that I had called various dealerships and none could help me until the following week. I believe I spoke with Mike. He told me to bring my car in and they would look at it. I arrived, and in a matter of moments, they took care of my issue, and then washed my car. Thank You Schafer's for making my car safe again to drive. I am on my way. You guys are awesome for helping me with my dilemma. Kudos. I wish you all well. Signed, Bobby B./ A.K.A / Perry Mason

Michelle Marcucci
Jan 14, 2019
1 year ago
Great service. Great people who work there we love to go there th is guys always a pleasure

Daniel S.
Jan 7, 2019
1 year ago
Love this place. Great service, especially liked the electronic report just minutes after I dropped off the car.

Joe Glaviano
Dec 26, 2018
1 year ago
Everything was done well. No problems.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Excellent Service for my inspection, repairs, and a free Uber back to my office while they worked on my vehicle. I'll be coming back to Schafer's again for my next service.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Y'all. These folks are so nice. I got sent over from Pep Boys because I needed to check out a slowly leaking tire. They do a brief but full inspection when they checked this. Takes like 25-30 min. For free. I found out that I had a few other things to replace but they didn't try to upsell me on anything (all the other services I specifically requested). The rates are hella reasonable ($30 oil change? $25 tire plug? Totes.) The waiting room is cozy lots of seating downstairs and up. They've got tv and AC. The upstairs has many outlets for your charging needs, and you can watch them do the work. They also have a kid space too. And nice bathrooms (single occupancy). Also they email you the entire check of their inspection!! Amazing. (Plus they answered all my panicked questions about what is wrong with my car and why are they doing this big inspection and how long will this take). 5 stars and I'll be seeing these folks for my future car stuff.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Up front with the price. Pretty close to dead on with how long it would be. Comfortable waiting area.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
I have been going to Schafers Auto for many years. The service is beyond exceptional. The Schafer team is honest, friendly and professional. They will explain every detail to you, so you have an understanding of what's going on with your car. I always have been, and I still am very satisfied with the service they provide! Thank you Schafers!

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
These guys are top notch for automotive work. I called and was able to set up an appointment the next day, and they are very knowledgeable as well! Oh and the Uber ride from and to the shop was super helpful, a nice touch.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
I've known the owner Mike for a number of years now when I came to get some aftermarket wheels and tires. Service here has always been spectacular. Very organized and close knit. Now there is a complimentary "vehicle health" inspection which comes via text message. It indicates any issues or recommendations with a pic of the specific instrument needing repair so you can see it for yourself. There is no gimmicks here just golden service and I highly recommend to all.

Anna Tangi
Feb 26, 2018
2 years ago
Thank you for the exceptional service you always provide for my Honda! I know my car is in good, trusting hands when I bring it to Schafer's!

Mike Gallagher
Feb 22, 2018
2 years ago
Great experience, as always. Informative, collaborative, reliable and quick.

Judith Weber
Feb 12, 2018
2 years ago
Love it here trustworthy, great service, never a worry

Joe Tomlinson
Feb 5, 2018
2 years ago
I had an oil change and some filters replaced. Mike, George and the techs were very professional and handled the service quickly and courteously. The car wash was a nice touch. I highly recommend Schafer’s for all types of auto repair and maintenance work!

Richard Ryan
Jan 29, 2018
2 years ago
I brought my car to Schafer's with no notice. They were extremely accommodating and repaired my issues quickly. They also returned my vehicle cleaner than when I brought it in. The staff at Schaffer's has been terrific.

Thomas Buzzard
Jan 29, 2018
2 years ago
Friendly professional service. Made me feel like a VIP!

Rich Walsh
Jan 26, 2018
2 years ago
I could not have asked for better service at Shafer's. The entire crew does a great job to go above and beyond to provide excellent service.

Eric Hess
Dec 27, 2017
2 years ago
Mike and his group at Schafer's are the best in the city! 5 Stars!

Laurine Ucciferri
Nov 27, 2017
2 years ago
I can’t say enough about the service and the staff of Schafer’s. They have been up front for what needs to be done and I really appreciate the service and staff because I can be a pest..Thanks Michael and staff! See you in a week..

Steve Stippick
Nov 22, 2017
2 years ago
Top notch customer service along with great work, highly reccommend!

Andrew Spina
Oct 18, 2017
2 years ago
Best shop around, totally trustworthy. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Oct 4, 2017
2 years ago

James Mcgivern
Sep 8, 2017
2 years ago
Mike and his team are excellent. Very customer focused service at reasonable prices.

Judith Spielman
Aug 27, 2017
2 years ago
I have been a happy customer for over 20 years. Nobody touches my car but Schafer's. They are trustworthing and kind and I oftern recommend them to my friends and family.

Anthony Seiter
Aug 17, 2017
2 years ago
My car was making weird noises and kind of coughing. I took it to Schafer's and they found the issue and fixed it in one day. Having 2 kids it was important that I wasn't without a car for long. So one day was great. They called with everything that needed to be done and the cost before they did anything. That was great knowing what I was going to be paying before they just did the work.

Michael Cruz
Aug 14, 2017
2 years ago
They always go above and beyond to help their customers out. I've been coming to Schafer's now for more than 10 years for all of my vehicles and Mike and his team have always come through for me. Top notch facility and crew.

Fran Bertele
Aug 10, 2017
2 years ago
Great service Mike is very knowledgeable about what is wrong with your repair and also explains how it's going to be fixed. Will definitely be using them again.

Thomas Buzzard
Aug 7, 2017
2 years ago
I always get great service at Schafer's. The most important thing for me is that I trust them completely. Keep up the great work!

Aug 5, 2017
2 years ago
i love this place i hang out there all day every day never want to leave

Susan Cornell
Jul 31, 2017
2 years ago
I moved to the city about a year ago and didn't know where to take my car for service. A friend recommended Schafer's and I'm so thankful! Mike is so responsive and offers great service. The last time my car was in his shop, he actually offered to have an Uber come pick me up to bring me to his shop to pick up my car- who does that?!? I also really like the text that they send with an automotive report that shows everything that is going on with my car. I'm extremely satisfied with the work that has been done by Schafer's on my vehicle.

Kevin Lauer
Jul 28, 2017
2 years ago
Excellent Service

Heather Mcmordie
Jul 6, 2017
2 years ago
Always quality service and friendly staff.

Michael Lenahan
Jun 29, 2017
2 years ago
Only place I'll take my cars!

Hank Mancuso
Jun 26, 2017
2 years ago
Michael and his team are through and get the job done in a professional manner and I found their prices fair and the workmanship excellent, Without hesitation I have recommended Schafers to many of my friends,