Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.22 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5.00
326
4.00
23
3.00
10
2.00
16
1.00
99

Jamie D.
Dec 10, 2018
1 year ago
I can't say enough good things about this place! The customer service was top notch and exceeded all my expectations. They offered to pay for my Uber to and from work which was extremely convenient. My car needed a lot of work as it was an older vehicle. Once my car was ready, I received a text message with a digital Inspection with details on what exactly needed to be done, along with pictures. Their prices are very affordable! When I went to pick up my car, Cindy was nice enough to print out a list of everything that was done as well as a list of additional items that needed work (that I couldn't afford at the time). She went above and beyond and printed out totals of all the work needed and let me know that everything would be stored in their system for future reference. Michael was great and helped me answer various questions I had regarding the vehicle. I highly highly recommend this shop!

John W.
Nov 27, 2018
1 year ago
Love to bring my car here for service. They are very courteous and professional. Also they do dealer quality work without the extravagant dealer prices.

Kevin Lauer
Nov 12, 2018
1 year ago
Great Service

Mike Dellavecchia
Oct 29, 2018
1 year ago
I've only been going to Schafer's since January, when I dropped my F-150's transmission on Delaware Avenue, but since day 1, Mike and his staff have been very professional at every step of the way. From initial contact to communicating the problems & cost of the fixes, everyone at Schafer's is top notch and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for service on their vehicle. Mike from N. Libs.

Oct 22, 2018
1 year ago
I've been bringing my vehicles here for several years, including my 1960 Ford Thunderbird. Schafer's consistently provides excellent service, timely updates and sterling customer care every time. i highly recommend Shafer's to all my friends and acquaintances and now, everyone!

John Kane
Oct 17, 2018
1 year ago
As always, the service on my 2007 Impala was excellent, on time and this one was free as the tire service agreement paid for itself.

Walter Kopicko
Oct 12, 2018
1 year ago
Great staff, service and workmanship

Brent K.
Oct 9, 2018
1 year ago
Have a pick up truck which picked up a large screw in the tire. Walked in 8 AM in the morning they were able to have it plugged and got me on my way very quickly. Couple of days later I discovered there was a slow leak and it turns out that the screw was so wide, left a hole too big for a plug to seal. Went back to the shop a couple weeks later, they put the truck on the lift and tended to it right away. They were able to verify that the plug was not working so they completely took the tire off the rim and patched it from the inside. They explained in detail what happened and why the plug wasn't working and did not want any additional money for fixing it with a patch. Not only were they professional and apologetic, they offered a free car wash. I believe in supporting small businesses and this one is by far one of the more reputable car repair shops you could find in Philadelphia. A+++ if I need anything on any of my vehicles in the future, I'm taking them to Schafers.

Oct 2, 2018
1 year ago
Bad shop not recommended

Alyssa Aumack
Sep 27, 2018
1 year ago
They’re great! Always so nice and prompt. They even offered to pay for my Uber after dropping off my car for inspection! They also include a free car wash :)

Sep 26, 2018
1 year ago

Christopher N.
Sep 13, 2018
1 year ago
I went here because it was conveniently located close to work. I went in for an inspection and they wanted close to $600 to change out my brakes to pass. I told them I would do it myself. Then they proceeded to tell me that there is no free retake of the state (safety) inspection. The inspection here cost me $90+ and then they wanted another $75 to test again. I called around to 3-4 other places and all of them do free retest and for a lower cost. $165+ for a state inspection? Get out of here. My local shop near my house does it for $65 with a free retest. Would not come out out of principle. Terrible Business practice. Edit. If you charge $43.18 for the safety inspection then why was I quoted $75 on the phone? Like I said other places stated they would do the safety inspection retest for free. They even balked at what you guys did.

Sep 12, 2018
1 year ago
I went here because it was conveniently located close to work. I went in for an inspection and they wanted close to $600 to change out my brakes to pass. I told them I would do it myself. Then they proceeded to tell me that there is no free retake of the state inspection. The inspection here cost me $90+ and then they wanted another $75 to test again. I called around to 3-4 other places and all of them do free retest and for a lower cost. $165+ for a state inspection? Get out of here. My local shop near my house does it for $65 with a free retest. Would not come out out of principle. Terrible Business practice

Aug 31, 2018
1 year ago

Thomas Buzzard
Aug 2, 2018
1 year ago
I always receive professional and courteous service when I take my car here. And getting an Uber ride home and back to pick my car up is an awesome perk! My car gets the service it needs and a bath too!!!

Tom B.
Aug 2, 2018
1 year ago
I have been a loyal customer here for a long time. I have always gotten great service here but believe it or not it has even gotten better in the past couple of years as they have really stepped up their game by incorporating the use of technology into their service. I get a text showing the results of their inspection including any diagnostic testing results. I get an Uber ride home after dropping my car off and another one back to pick it up. And my car is even washed! Great service!!

Aug 1, 2018
1 year ago

Karen Green
Jul 27, 2018
1 year ago
Go to Schafer’s for quality repairs expert advice and fair market prices! Faster then Mercedes for sure Ask Cindy on the phones for George the manager or Mike the owner🚘

Melissa M.
Jul 26, 2018
1 year ago
Super friendly, accommodating and helpful team. Overall great experience, I'll continue to use them for my car needs and I would highly recommend them!

Laurine Ucciferri
Jul 9, 2018
1 year ago
I have been going to Schafer's for sometime now. I trust Mike and his decisions regarding my vehicle. He's always been up front and honest and I recommended him to family and friends. Thanks Mike

Jun 6, 2018
1 year ago
Great place. The customer service has always been warm and welcoming. The staff is willing to explain things to make sure you fully understand your options.

May 31, 2018
1 year ago
Treat you good initially, screw you later. All kinds of work you didn't request marked on invoices and you get charged for them. Brake fluid flushes are unnecessary unless it is exposed to air and they did it every time I went. Just started with parts guarantee which mean all previous work I had done they won't stand by - very upsetting since I basically had my car rebuilt by these guys... Something that should last over 75,000-100,000 miles only lasted 2,000 miles at the most and they wouldn't back it up and didn't have a warranty on it. Nice to your face, but not on the bill... They marked down a bunch of crap I didn't request on a bill and when I questioned it, it turned out the one thing they said they did they didn't actually do and had to subtract it. I asked to have the manager on the phone and they said they couldn't reach him, yet when I persisted they magically got him on the line... Don't get screwed, go elsewhere. Went here for over 15 years, it was good when they would get paid for the quality of their work, now they get paid on commission. One time they had my car for nearly a month and kept failing to get the job done.... They screwed up my alarm system once too because they couldn't figure out the wires and then told me nothing about it until I got home to inspect it further. Also broke my oil cap, which they told me nothing about. They REALLY screwed up with they were supposed to do a timing belt change and did not reseal my engine with a new gasket and silicone and I had a bad leak because of it which caused my car to stall out in the middle of the street - I had to do a tune up because oil got in my spark plugs and everything! One time I had a ton of work done they were trying to tell me I had to replace a bunch of crap that wasn't even cost feasible and wasn't even an issue. I had a antifreeze leak, transmission leak, oil leak, I never fixed and when I went the last few times (past 2 years), none of these things were mentioned meaning they failed to let me know if they were leaking or not... that means you definitely can't trust them. It's a shame but it's true. Oh and Mike or George, don't bother with a response trying to reason, I won't be back and you don't need to try and explain yourselves trying to look professional and reputable. Highway robbery and horrible to customers, end of story.

Kevin Lauer
May 29, 2018
1 year ago
Excellent Service as Usual

anne l.
May 25, 2018
2 years ago
I am a loyal Schafer's customer and highly recommend them to anyone. I had previously thought that I'd always get the best service from the car dealer. Wrong! Service dept at my Toyota dealer told me I needed a new transmission (which was only 3 years old and had been replaced while under warranty). Took to Schafer's for a second opinion and they said no need for that. They did a $200 repair and 18 months later the transmission is still going strong. I really have come to trust them and would recommend them without reservation. They care.

May 19, 2018
2 years ago
Schafer's can not be trusted with major auto repairs! I took my car to Schafer's because it would hesitate while I was driving. I was charged $167 diagnostic fee which was not waived with work done. They fixed what they thought the problem was. The day I picked my car up I received a text later that day asking if my car were running ok (red flag for me) and to leave a review. I responded with so far it's ok and did not leave a review because based on the text message I didn't feel they were confident in the work performed on my car. I started having the same issues 2 days later. I returned and they performed another diagnostic to tell me it was a different issue with my vehicle and I had to go to the dealer for repair. How is it that I have the same hesitation I initially bought it in for but it's a different problem?? I believe the fact that I didn't have to pay the dealer for the repair they made(covered under extended warranty) had Michael under the impression I would overlook their error. I asked to have money refunded or to at least come to a mutual agreement but I was denied and told I had two separate issues with my car. They were good for my brake and oil change services but that's it!

May 16, 2018
2 years ago
Schafer's can not be trusted with major auto repairs! I took my car to Schafer's because it would hesitate while I was driving. I was charged $167 diagnostic fee which was not waived with work done. They fixed what they thought the problem was. The day I picked my car up I received a text later that day asking if my car were running ok (red flag for me) and to leave a review. I responded with so far it's ok and did not leave a review because based on the text message I didn't feel they were confident in the work performed on my car. I started having the same issues 2 days later. I returned and they performed another diagnostic to tell me it was a different issue with my vehicle and I had to go to the dealer for repair. How is it that I have the same hesitation I initially bought it in for but it's a different problem?? I believe the fact that I didn't have to pay the dealer for the repair they made(covered under extended warranty) had Michael under the impression I would overlook their error. I asked to have money refunded or to at least come to a mutual agreement but I was denied and told I had two separate issues with my car. They were good for my brake and oil change services but that's it!

May 15, 2018
2 years ago

May 4, 2018
2 years ago
From someone who is not very knowledgeable about cars, Schafer's Auto Center is the best! I always feels respected and never taken advantage of. The complementary inspection, Uber, and car wash do not hurt either. All of the employees are kind, helpful, and communicative. As long as I live in Philadelphia, I will not go anywhere else. Thank you!

Jacquelyn Fricke
Apr 18, 2018
2 years ago
I have gone to Schafer's for a bit now, and I wouldn't go anywhere else. They always give me the lowest cost and go the extra mile to find inexpensive versions of the parts I need. I am a college student with no idea about cars, so they were a saving grace to me. They also make sure my car is clean and looks good, and they have excellent people working. I don't have enough kind words for them. They also do free Ubers home which is so kind! They go the extra mile to be the best.

Apr 16, 2018
2 years ago
Schafer's is great! I have been going to them for almost 18 years ( minus a few while my Subaru was under warranty). I will always use them. They have always been fair and honest and the customer service has always been outstanding. They will order an Uber for you if waiting is not an option and the manager Michael will always make sure you are satisfied! Best place in Philly to have your car serviced.

Bruce Vrana
Jun 26, 2017
2 years ago
Schafer's did a thorough job. I am confudent that all issues are addressed and properly resolved. I can go on my long road trips and not worry.

Joy Young
May 22, 2017
3 years ago
I pulled into Pep Boys a few blocks away from Schafer's and there was a line and honestly no one was very friendly so I left. I'd never been to Schafers before, they were just in the right location when I needed a new tire. I stopped in and everyone was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. Thank you!! I'll definitely be back!!

Jim Delcorpo
May 17, 2017
3 years ago

May 13, 2017
3 years ago
Exceptional service provided by a customer oriented staff. The pricing in very reasonable and they are extremely accommodating with the scheduling. Highly recommend.

Adam Entrican
May 10, 2017
3 years ago
Scahfers is awesome! My father works at a Holiday Inn and takes the work vans to Schafers whenever he needs work done. Not only does he bring the work vans but he brings his personal vehicles. I am a mechanically inclined person and I like to work on my cars myself, but one day at work I got a nail in my tire and brought it right to schafers on my lunch break. Mr Schafer gave me a number for a plug off the top of his head and stuck to that number, and time we spoke about. Mr Schafer is a very friendly person and bought my business via word of mouth and the way him and his crew presented themselves. Very professional and nice business, will bring my vehicles back for service and not worry about the hands I'm leaving it in! Adam E.

Judith Spielman
Apr 27, 2017
3 years ago
No one touches my car except Schafer's! I've been using them for over 20 years and trust them explicitly. Ten years ago I had the opportunity to buy a Prius (relatively new to the market) and chose not to do so when I realized that only the factory could work on the car. Like I said, NO ONE touches my car except SCHAFER'S!

Jacqui F.
Apr 20, 2017
3 years ago
This. Place. Is. Unbeatable. If you aren't taking your car here, you're missing out! They took SUCH good care of me. Affordable, kind, and helpful. They lifted my car up, showed me what was wrong with it, and told me what was only NECESSARY for my money. Didn't try and scam me at all. They now have a faithful customer!

Joseph Messner
Apr 17, 2017
3 years ago

Apr 14, 2017
3 years ago
DONT DO IT!!! we went here for years, they were polite and seemed to know what they were talking about... Then they started ripping us off each year with bad inspections, just to have one of our wheels almost fall off ona afamily trip. Not …More

Mike Lenahan
Mar 6, 2017
3 years ago
Awesome service!

Mar 2, 2017
3 years ago
- Good Place, Nice Staff... Quick Service

Feb 27, 2017
3 years ago
Quick, reliable, and friendly, I would definitely come back

Feb 27, 2017
3 years ago
Great staff, fast service and reliable work!

Feb 27, 2017
3 years ago
Good Place, Nice Staff... Quick Service

Feb 27, 2017
3 years ago
DONT DO IT!!! we went here for years, they were polite and seemed to know what they were talking about... Then they started ripping us off each year with bad inspections, just to have one of our wheels almost fall off ona afamily trip. Not only were they not concerned about our families welfare at all, the onyl thing they could say was "Thats weird". Last inspection I took there they told us we need new brakes and some other things, took it to another garage outside of the city and they informed us the frame was rusted and could not even pass inspection even with all the work. If you want to be safe then dont take your car to this place. They seem to forget people drive vehicles and lives are involved ... TERRIBLE

Feb 27, 2017
3 years ago
The guys really know what they're doing and provide friendly and informative service. I've found my mechanics

Feb 27, 2017
3 years ago
Friendly customer service. Nice staff and got the job done in a short amount of time.

Paul Morales
Feb 23, 2017
3 years ago
I'm very pleased with the service provided to my van on Tuesday 2/21/17. You guys did exactly what I requested and your quote was very reasonable. The work was performed in a timely manner and I am satisfied. I've been a customer for a long time now and recommended you to family and friends and will continue to do so. Kudos to you and everyone in your shop!!! T%hanks.

Heather Mcmordie
Feb 10, 2017
3 years ago
Schafer's consistently provides friendly and reliable service. I always drive away satisfied and well-informed about the work my car has received.

Chris Smith
Feb 7, 2017
3 years ago

Adam Fike
Feb 2, 2017
3 years ago
I went to Schafer's to have an inspection performed on my car. The staff was very friendly and attentive. They thoroughly explained everything they found on the inspection and offered the inspection at a reasonable cost. The following day I received a message from the owner to make sure that the service was satisfactory, which I felt was a nice touch. I will definitely be returning to Schafer's for my auto needs.

Jean Claude Jacquot
Jan 30, 2017
3 years ago
Best in town .All pro team .

Francis Cota
Jan 24, 2017
3 years ago
Very professional, very organized very friendly, great service. Will be going back fro as long as I live in the area

Andrew Spina
Jan 18, 2017
3 years ago
Schafers auto is the best place to take your car when anything is wrong. They do tons of work from oil changes, inspections , breaks, mufflers engine work any type of mechanic work you need. They do a great job and they have a great staff and the owner Mike is one of the nicest people you chould ever meet. He goes out of his way to make sure your car is working properly, done in time and also at great prices!! My brothers and family love this place I would highly recommend them!!

Dec 30, 2016
3 years ago
Awesome staff! They diagnose the problem properly before beginning the work. Would recommend them to anyone.

Dec 22, 2016
3 years ago
Lol they pay $5 to give a good review, so don't trust the good reviews??

Margaret Chojnacki
Dec 21, 2016
3 years ago

Nada Hall
Dec 19, 2016
3 years ago
I love the service that i receive with Schafer's I will return all the time.

Rashid Coots
Dec 19, 2016
3 years ago
Good work and service

John Kane
Oct 17, 2016
3 years ago
As always, top notch, 5 star service