Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.22 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5.00
326
4.00
23
3.00
10
2.00
16
1.00
99

Marcy L.
Apr 16, 2018
2 years ago
Schafer's is great! I have been going to them for almost 18 years ( minus a few while my Subaru was under warranty). I will always use them. They have always been fair and honest and the customer service has always been outstanding. They will order an Uber for you if waiting is not an option and the manager Michael will always make sure you are satisfied! Best place in Philly to have your car serviced.

Apr 16, 2018
2 years ago
They do a great job! I've been going to them for a couple of years now. They take great care of my VW!

Apr 14, 2018
2 years ago
Y'all. These folks are so nice. I got sent over from Pep Boys because I needed to check out a slowly leaking …More

Apr 14, 2018
2 years ago
I recently called Schafer’s based solely on proximity and Google reviews for an emergency repair. Two minutes later (literally - I’d called from the Walmart parking lot), I was in the waiting room with my car being looked at. The staff was …More

Apr 14, 2018
2 years ago
I have been going to Schafers Auto for many years. The service is beyond exceptional. The Schafer team is honest, friendly and professional. They will explain every detail to you, so you have an understanding of what's going on with …More

Apr 14, 2018
2 years ago
I've known the owner Mike for a number of years now when I came to get some aftermarket wheels and tires. Service here has always been spectacular. Very organized and close knit. Now there is a complimentary "vehicle health" inspection …More

Mary Accardo
Apr 12, 2018
2 years ago
I've been taking my car to to Schafer's for a few years now. Finding a reliable and trustworthy mechanic in the city has been difficult in the past and they never fail to exceed my expectations. They are thorough, explain car issues in a way I can understand, and help me prioritize what work needs to be done "now versus later". You can tell they care about their customers and aren't trying to make a quick buck. Friendly customer service, and they have coffee in their waiting area which is a plus!

Michael Russo
Apr 9, 2018
2 years ago
friendly, same day service, free car wash and uber ride also they were able to diagnose and fix my issue same day, sent a description and pics of the problem to my cell while I was at work.

Apr 6, 2018
2 years ago
I've been using Schafer's for almost 4 years now and I trust them implicitly. I've used them for PA inspections and routine services. Most recently, my brake light came on so I called on a Tuesday morning requesting a Wednesday am appointment and they were able to do so. The provided a complimentary uber ride to my job so I could leave my car (approximately a $15 uber ride). I thought I needed new front brakes but when George called, he said it was the brake pads and brake fluid. I felt i they really could have up-charged me, but they didn't. My car was ready when they said it would be. It feels good to know there is a trustworthy place in town! Will definitely Be back!

William Mccone
Mar 29, 2018
2 years ago
Mike and his team always take care of me and my family cars, We've been with them for years and will continue to take our card there.

Robert Petrucci
Mar 28, 2018
2 years ago
Great service and friendly people

Manjun Li
Mar 15, 2018
2 years ago
The store is big and nice. The staff here are warm hearted and really kind. At the same time, they are also very professional. They fixed the problem of my car successfully. It 's a really good place to go if ur car has some problems.

Mar 8, 2018
2 years ago

Kat V.
Feb 28, 2018
2 years ago
These guys are the best! Super friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. They really care about their customers. I won't be taking my car anywhere else after working with Schafer Auto!

Feb 28, 2018
2 years ago
These guys are the best! Super friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. They really care about their customers. I won't be taking my car anywhere else after working with Schafer Auto!

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
good service and very polite

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Great service! We will be back!

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Michael and his team are through and get the job done in a professional manner and I found their prices fair and the workmanship excellent, Without hesitation I have recommended Schafers to many of my friends,

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Excellent Service for my inspection, repairs, and a free Uber back to my office while they worked on my vehicle. I'll be coming back to Schafer's again for my next service.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Y'all. These folks are so nice. I got sent over from Pep Boys because I needed to check out a slowly leaking tire. They do a brief but full inspection when they checked this. Takes like 25-30 min. For free. I found out that I had a few other things to replace but they didn't try to upsell me on anything (all the other services I specifically requested). The rates are hella reasonable ($30 oil change? $25 tire plug? Totes.) The waiting room is cozy lots of seating downstairs and up. They've got tv and AC. The upstairs has many outlets for your charging needs, and you can watch them do the work. They also have a kid space too. And nice bathrooms (single occupancy). Also they email you the entire check of their inspection!! Amazing. (Plus they answered all my panicked questions about what is wrong with my car and why are they doing this big inspection and how long will this take). 5 stars and I'll be seeing these folks for my future car stuff.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Up front with the price. Pretty close to dead on with how long it would be. Comfortable waiting area.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Every experience so far has been fantastic. Friendly staff, quick service, honest work, and reasonable prices.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
I have been going to Schafers Auto for many years. The service is beyond exceptional. The Schafer team is honest, friendly and professional. They will explain every detail to you, so you have an understanding of what's going on with your car. I always have been, and I still am very satisfied with the service they provide! Thank you Schafers!

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
Excellent customer service, above and far beyond any auto shop I have been. Very knowledgeable staff, very friendly staff, very convenient service. They will get the job done well.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
These guys are top notch for automotive work. I called and was able to set up an appointment the next day, and they are very knowledgeable as well! Oh and the Uber ride from and to the shop was super helpful, a nice touch.

Feb 27, 2018
2 years ago
I've known the owner Mike for a number of years now when I came to get some aftermarket wheels and tires. Service here has always been spectacular. Very organized and close knit. Now there is a complimentary "vehicle health" inspection which comes via text message. It indicates any issues or recommendations with a pic of the specific instrument needing repair so you can see it for yourself. There is no gimmicks here just golden service and I highly recommend to all.

Anna Tangi
Feb 26, 2018
2 years ago
Thank you for the exceptional service you always provide for my Honda! I know my car is in good, trusting hands when I bring it to Schafer's!

Mike Gallagher
Feb 22, 2018
2 years ago
Great experience, as always. Informative, collaborative, reliable and quick.

Judith Weber
Feb 12, 2018
2 years ago
Love it here trustworthy, great service, never a worry

Joe Tomlinson
Feb 5, 2018
2 years ago
I had an oil change and some filters replaced. Mike, George and the techs were very professional and handled the service quickly and courteously. The car wash was a nice touch. I highly recommend Schafer’s for all types of auto repair and maintenance work!

Oct 8, 2016
3 years ago
- DONT DO IT!!! we went here for years, they were polite and seemed to know what they were talking about... Then they started ripping us off each year with bad inspections, just to have one of our wheels almost fall off ona afamily trip. Not only were they not concerned about our families welfare at all, the onyl thing they could say was "Thats weird". Last inspection I took there they told us we need new brakes and some other things, took it to another garage outside of the city and they informed us the frame was rusted and could not even pass inspection even with all the work. If you want to be safe then dont take your car to this place. They seem to forget people drive vehicles and lives are involved ... TERRIBLE

Kevin Oshea
Jun 20, 2016
3 years ago
I have been using Shafer's as my primary service center for nearly 20 years and at least 4 autos and they have always provided good and honest service. My most recent repair was complete but there was a warning light on the dash so Michael had his crew work on the problem at no charge until it was fixed (it was a malfunctioning light, the original repairs were good).

Issa Lee-hall
Jun 11, 2016
3 years ago
My review is long overdue. I have been using Schafer's for a few years now and they have NEVER disappointed me. The staff is very professional and they provide a clean and comfortable space for you to wait for your vehicle until it is finished. Their prices have always been fair and they will work with you whenever you may have questions or concerns. They will not recommend repairs that are unnecessary or try to swindle you out of your money. They are all honest hardworking people that truly value their customers. I have taken both my 1999 Subaru Legacy Outback and 2013 BMW 335i to them on multiple occasions. They are very knowledgeable about cars and have the latest technology and equipment at their disposal. They are not in my immediate area, however, they are well worth the travel to get too. I love my vehicles and would not trust anyone else to work on them besides the staff at Schafer's. You guys are the best!

Susan Kronmiller
Jun 6, 2016
3 years ago
Always great service at Schafer's!!! The Staff is very Friendly!!! I highly recommend Schafer's!!!

Jenelle Mattson
Jun 5, 2016
3 years ago
I've been a customer for 5 years. Great service and honest people.

Gary Mays
Jun 3, 2016
3 years ago

Apr 30, 2016
4 years ago
Took my 2000 Jeep Wrangler there on 6/30 for its yearly inspection. I asked if they could look into the blower for the heat and A/C since it was not working at all for 2 months. It was clearly written on the folder and sheet inside the folder that I requested they look at the blower. Was called a little past 4Pm on 6/30 by Jen saying my car was done. Got into a cab ($30 ride) got over there then got a call from the shop when I was out front saying it would not be done today due to an issue getting to the oil pan to replace it since it was leaking. Said no problem asked if I could pick it up on 7/6 since I would be out of town for the holiday. Came to the shop in the AM on 7/6 paid for the $1385 in expenses fully expecting the blower to work since they called and said it needed a coolant flush and was clogged and that is why the blower was not working. When I paid for all the service I figured for $1385 the blower would be working, like I was told. Got into my car, the blower still did not work. Went back in told them they got it in, ordered the part and I waited for it to be fixed. They got the blower installed and figured out something was shorting and that is what caused the blower to go. What I was not happy about was paying the $100 an hr labor cost at this point. I gladly would pay for the part cost. At this point I have already paid for $863 in labor, felt that they messed up on diagnosing the blower. The blower was going to be another $300 and change plus parts and labor needed to replace the electronics that was shorting. The guy at the front offered to take $60 off the cost. This barely covered the two cab rides over. I felt at this point that was not enough. I have already sat there at this point for 2-3 hours and also took two trips over (via a cab) and one of the two things I asked them to look at was not done. They value there time at $100 an hour but don't value the customers time, or that I was missing work which is costing me money since they didn't do what was supposed to be done. Jen argued with her son while I sat in the waiting room which was awkward, another mechanic made the statement "he just didn't care anymore." I also heard every excuse in the book whoever was there on 6/30 was already in vacation mode, the mechanic who worked on my car was new, Its always crazy at the end of the month due to people getting their cars in for inspection. I don't care this is not my problem! I would have rather of been told to bring it back next week when they had the proper time to look at it. The whole point is if I new my 15 year old car needed $2000 in repairs I probably would have went another route. They lost a customer over one hour of labor costs. Plus the understanding was that for $1385 the blower would be working which it clearly did not. It ended with the person at the front desk storming out removing the new blower and me leaving and questioning the integrity of the shop. I have referred others to the shop as well as bring my car here when it needs servicing when I am in town. But will not be going their in the future and would warn others to avoid the shop as well.

Feb 27, 2016
4 years ago
They always took good care of my car!

Feb 27, 2016
4 years ago
Been going to these guys for every car issue since 2011. I won't go anywhere else. I don't care about the wait room, the repair costs, or the location. They're honest and treat customers with respect. That's all that matters to me.

allysa V
Dec 21, 2015
4 years ago
I was able to get a diagnosis on my car with a next day repair. They were able to fix a diagnosis that pep boys misdiagnosed. They are very knowledgeable on catalytic converter repairs. Overall, was a good experience

Sep 2, 2015
4 years ago
My fiancé and I have used Schafer's for years, taking 4 different vehicles for service. In the beginning, we received great service (quick turnaround time and reasonable prices). After a change in management, we noticed a difference in customer service, but figured they just needed to work out the kinks. Last year I called to get an estimate on new tires and an oil change. I was told that if I purchased 4 new tires, there would be a discount on the wheel alignment. I was given a breakdown on the individual prices and then the grand total, which was a lot more than the individual prices added together. When I pointed this out, the response was "Oh yeah, well the alignment is $*******, not $*******. I stated that I have been a loyal customer for years and the first price quoted should be honored. The young man told me he didm;t really know the prices, he was a new employee and couldn't give me the lower price. If you don't really know the prices then you shouldn't be quoting anything. I told him I would call back later to speak with Mike (the person we always dealt with in the past). When I spoke with Mike, his response was "Yeah the second price is right". He never apologized for the error and should have honored the lower price. I went elsewhere for my tires. I did not want to ever go back to Schafer's again, but my 2008 Chrysler Pacifica needed servicing and since they are nearby and my work schedule is tight, my fiancé and I brought it there, hoping for the best. We dropped it off on a Wednesday (late), so didn't expect it back until at least Friday. We were given the rundown on the problem and cost. It was EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE!. Mike called back and said he had found the parts cheaper so cost was reduced by $100 and car would be ready by Saturday as the parts were coming from Indiana. We gave the go ahead. On Saturday I waited for the call that the car would be ready (they close at 2pm) and didn't hear from them. I called them at 1:30pm and was told the car would be ready for pickup in a few minutes. I went down at 2pm and my car was being "test-driven" to ensure everything was good. I waited 15 minutes and finally had my car. I paid and got into my car (in their side lot) and put it in reverse (same noise as before they fixed it), put it in drive (same noise as before they fixed it) and pulled to their gate (same noise as before they fixed it). Turned off car, went back inside and stated car was in same shape as before I brought it in. Response "Really, well we are getting ready to close, we can look at it on Monday". THERE IS NO WAY THE GUY DID NOT HEAR THAT NOISE WHILE TEST DRIVING IT, unless it wasn't test driven. I was now without my car and had to make other arrangements to get to work on Monday. Monday "the part locked up, we are ordering a new part, won't be here till tomorrow. Tuesday "part hasn't arrived yet, as soon as it does, we'll get your car fixed" Wednesday-NO CALL FROM SCHAFER'S. Thursday-I called at 9:30 am and spoke with Mike who apologized and proceeded to explain how the parts company screwed him and they were expressing this part on that day from Indiana (again) and he tried to help me by getting a cheaper part to lower my price and now he would have to eat the cost of the more expensive part. I told him none of that was my concern, my car was there for 8 days and I wanted my car that day and done correctly. My car was ready and as a bonus for all of the inconvenience, I was offered 2 free oil changes. 2 FREE OIL CHANGES-REALLY!!!!!!!!! No thanks and NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Dec 21, 2014
5 years ago
USED to *adore* them - went there faithfully for over ten years for three different cars - but since Bill has been gone it's a very different place. In the past they never failed to fix things right the first time or VERY rarely say they couldn't. More recently my husband and I took our cars in with a variety of problems (engine warning light, tire, brakes, etc.) and every time "fixing" it took more than one trip - would seem ok at first, them the problem would recur and they'd say it was something different. Last year when the same engine warning light came on for the fourth time I traded my car in as is and started fresh with a new car and a new repair place.

Isadora H.
Dec 21, 2014
5 years ago
USED to *adore* them - went there faithfully for over ten years for three different cars - but since Bill has been gone it's a very different place. In the past they never failed to fix things right the first time or VERY rarely say they couldn't. More recently my husband and I took our cars in with a variety of problems (engine warning light, tire, brakes, etc.) and every time "fixing" it took more than one trip - would seem ok at first, them the problem would recur and they'd say it was something different. Last year when the same engine warning light came on for the fourth time I traded my car in as is and started fresh with a new car and a new repair place.