Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.27 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5
421
4
28
3
10
2
16
1
117

Feb 27, 2019
3 years ago
I called Schafer's Auto late in the afternoon ( close to closing time) and explained I was taking a trip to South Carolina and I had an issue with my vehicle. I explained that I had called various dealerships and none could help me until the following week. I believe I spoke with Mike. He told me to bring my car in and they would look at it. I arrived, and in a matter of moments, they took care of my issue, and then washed my car. Thank You Schafer's for making my car safe again to drive. I am on my way. You guys are awesome for helping me with my dilemma. Kudos. I wish you all well. Signed, Bobby B./ A.K.A / Perry Mason

Feb 27, 2019
3 years ago
I’ve been here multiple times and some times the work was good and sometimes I needed to bring my car back for a redo and the work was shotty I guess it depends on which mechanic fixes your car. Either way it was always more than expected.

Feb 21, 2019
3 years ago

Alyssa Aumack
Feb 13, 2019
3 years ago
Always great service! Fast and friendly.

Kevin Brown
Feb 4, 2019
3 years ago
Honored the lifetime parts and labor warranty. I had a problem with a part they had installed and they towed the car and repaired it free of charge. Excellent service, excellent mechanics, excellent service.

Feb 1, 2019
3 years ago
I called Schafer's Auto late in the afternoon ( close to closing time) and explained I was taking a trip to South Carolina and I had an issue with my vehicle. I explained that I had called various dealerships and none could help me until the following week. I believe I spoke with Mike. He told me to bring my car in and they would look at it. I arrived, and in a matter of moments, they took care of my issue, and then washed my car. Thank You Schafer's for making my car safe again to drive. I am on my way. You guys are awesome for helping me with my dilemma. Kudos. I wish you all well. Signed, Bobby B./ A.K.A / Perry Mason

Michelle Marcucci
Jan 14, 2019
3 years ago
Great service. Great people who work there we love to go there th is guys always a pleasure

Daniel S.
Jan 7, 2019
3 years ago
Love this place. Great service, especially liked the electronic report just minutes after I dropped off the car.

Joe Glaviano
Dec 26, 2018
3 years ago
Everything was done well. No problems.

Jamie D.
Dec 10, 2018
3 years ago
I can't say enough good things about this place! The customer service was top notch and exceeded all my expectations. They offered to pay for my Uber to and from work which was extremely convenient. My car needed a lot of work as it was an older vehicle. Once my car was ready, I received a text message with a digital Inspection with details on what exactly needed to be done, along with pictures. Their prices are very affordable! When I went to pick up my car, Cindy was nice enough to print out a list of everything that was done as well as a list of additional items that needed work (that I couldn't afford at the time). She went above and beyond and printed out totals of all the work needed and let me know that everything would be stored in their system for future reference. Michael was great and helped me answer various questions I had regarding the vehicle. I highly highly recommend this shop!

John W.
Nov 27, 2018
3 years ago
Love to bring my car here for service. They are very courteous and professional. Also they do dealer quality work without the extravagant dealer prices.

Kevin Lauer
Nov 12, 2018
3 years ago
Great Service

Mike Dellavecchia
Oct 29, 2018
3 years ago
I've only been going to Schafer's since January, when I dropped my F-150's transmission on Delaware Avenue, but since day 1, Mike and his staff have been very professional at every step of the way. From initial contact to communicating the problems & cost of the fixes, everyone at Schafer's is top notch and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for service on their vehicle. Mike from N. Libs.

D C
Oct 28, 2018
3 years ago
Every experience so far has been fantastic. Friendly staff, quick service, honest work, and reasonable prices.

Oct 22, 2018
3 years ago
I've been bringing my vehicles here for several years, including my 1960 Ford Thunderbird. Schafer's consistently provides excellent service, timely updates and sterling customer care every time. i highly recommend Shafer's to all my friends and acquaintances and now, everyone!

John Kane
Oct 17, 2018
3 years ago
As always, the service on my 2007 Impala was excellent, on time and this one was free as the tire service agreement paid for itself.

Walter Kopicko
Oct 12, 2018
3 years ago
Great staff, service and workmanship

Brent K.
Oct 9, 2018
3 years ago
Have a pick up truck which picked up a large screw in the tire. Walked in 8 AM in the morning they were able to have it plugged and got me on my way very quickly. Couple of days later I discovered there was a slow leak and it turns out that the screw was so wide, left a hole too big for a plug to seal. Went back to the shop a couple weeks later, they put the truck on the lift and tended to it right away. They were able to verify that the plug was not working so they completely took the tire off the rim and patched it from the inside. They explained in detail what happened and why the plug wasn't working and did not want any additional money for fixing it with a patch. Not only were they professional and apologetic, they offered a free car wash. I believe in supporting small businesses and this one is by far one of the more reputable car repair shops you could find in Philadelphia. A+++ if I need anything on any of my vehicles in the future, I'm taking them to Schafers.

Oct 2, 2018
3 years ago
Bad shop not recommended

Alyssa Aumack
Sep 27, 2018
3 years ago
They’re great! Always so nice and prompt. They even offered to pay for my Uber after dropping off my car for inspection! They also include a free car wash :)

Sep 26, 2018
3 years ago

Sep 15, 2018
3 years ago
good service and very polite

Christopher N.
Sep 13, 2018
3 years ago
I went here because it was conveniently located close to work. I went in for an inspection and they wanted close to $600 to change out my brakes to pass. I told them I would do it myself. Then they proceeded to tell me that there is no free retake of the state (safety) inspection. The inspection here cost me $90+ and then they wanted another $75 to test again. I called around to 3-4 other places and all of them do free retest and for a lower cost. $165+ for a state inspection? Get out of here. My local shop near my house does it for $65 with a free retest. Would not come out out of principle. Terrible Business practice. Edit. If you charge $43.18 for the safety inspection then why was I quoted $75 on the phone? Like I said other places stated they would do the safety inspection retest for free. They even balked at what you guys did.

Sep 12, 2018
3 years ago
I went here because it was conveniently located close to work. I went in for an inspection and they wanted close to $600 to change out my brakes to pass. I told them I would do it myself. Then they proceeded to tell me that there is no free retake of the state inspection. The inspection here cost me $90+ and then they wanted another $75 to test again. I called around to 3-4 other places and all of them do free retest and for a lower cost. $165+ for a state inspection? Get out of here. My local shop near my house does it for $65 with a free retest. Would not come out out of principle. Terrible Business practice

Aug 31, 2018
3 years ago

Thomas Buzzard
Aug 2, 2018
3 years ago
I always receive professional and courteous service when I take my car here. And getting an Uber ride home and back to pick my car up is an awesome perk! My car gets the service it needs and a bath too!!!

Tom B.
Aug 2, 2018
3 years ago
I have been a loyal customer here for a long time. I have always gotten great service here but believe it or not it has even gotten better in the past couple of years as they have really stepped up their game by incorporating the use of technology into their service. I get a text showing the results of their inspection including any diagnostic testing results. I get an Uber ride home after dropping my car off and another one back to pick it up. And my car is even washed! Great service!!

Aug 1, 2018
3 years ago

Karen Green
Jul 27, 2018
3 years ago
Go to Schafer’s for quality repairs expert advice and fair market prices! Faster then Mercedes for sure Ask Cindy on the phones for George the manager or Mike the owner🚘

Melissa M.
Jul 26, 2018
3 years ago
Super friendly, accommodating and helpful team. Overall great experience, I'll continue to use them for my car needs and I would highly recommend them!

Sep 2, 2015
6 years ago
My fiancé and I have used Schafer's for years, taking 4 different vehicles for service. In the beginning, we received great service (quick turnaround time and reasonable prices). After a change in management, we noticed a difference in customer service, but figured they just needed to work out the kinks. Last year I called to get an estimate on new tires and an oil change. I was told that if I purchased 4 new tires, there would be a discount on the wheel alignment. I was given a breakdown on the individual prices and then the grand total, which was a lot more than the individual prices added together. When I pointed this out, the response was "Oh yeah, well the alignment is $*******, not $*******. I stated that I have been a loyal customer for years and the first price quoted should be honored. The young man told me he didm;t really know the prices, he was a new employee and couldn't give me the lower price. If you don't really know the prices then you shouldn't be quoting anything. I told him I would call back later to speak with Mike (the person we always dealt with in the past). When I spoke with Mike, his response was "Yeah the second price is right". He never apologized for the error and should have honored the lower price. I went elsewhere for my tires. I did not want to ever go back to Schafer's again, but my 2008 Chrysler Pacifica needed servicing and since they are nearby and my work schedule is tight, my fiancé and I brought it there, hoping for the best. We dropped it off on a Wednesday (late), so didn't expect it back until at least Friday. We were given the rundown on the problem and cost. It was EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE!. Mike called back and said he had found the parts cheaper so cost was reduced by $100 and car would be ready by Saturday as the parts were coming from Indiana. We gave the go ahead. On Saturday I waited for the call that the car would be ready (they close at 2pm) and didn't hear from them. I called them at 1:30pm and was told the car would be ready for pickup in a few minutes. I went down at 2pm and my car was being "test-driven" to ensure everything was good. I waited 15 minutes and finally had my car. I paid and got into my car (in their side lot) and put it in reverse (same noise as before they fixed it), put it in drive (same noise as before they fixed it) and pulled to their gate (same noise as before they fixed it). Turned off car, went back inside and stated car was in same shape as before I brought it in. Response "Really, well we are getting ready to close, we can look at it on Monday". THERE IS NO WAY THE GUY DID NOT HEAR THAT NOISE WHILE TEST DRIVING IT, unless it wasn't test driven. I was now without my car and had to make other arrangements to get to work on Monday. Monday "the part locked up, we are ordering a new part, won't be here till tomorrow. Tuesday "part hasn't arrived yet, as soon as it does, we'll get your car fixed" Wednesday-NO CALL FROM SCHAFER'S. Thursday-I called at 9:30 am and spoke with Mike who apologized and proceeded to explain how the parts company screwed him and they were expressing this part on that day from Indiana (again) and he tried to help me by getting a cheaper part to lower my price and now he would have to eat the cost of the more expensive part. I told him none of that was my concern, my car was there for 8 days and I wanted my car that day and done correctly. My car was ready and as a bonus for all of the inconvenience, I was offered 2 free oil changes. 2 FREE OIL CHANGES-REALLY!!!!!!!!! No thanks and NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Isadora H.
Dec 21, 2014
7 years ago
USED to *adore* them - went there faithfully for over ten years for three different cars - but since Bill has been gone it's a very different place. In the past they never failed to fix things right the first time or VERY rarely say they couldn't. More recently my husband and I took our cars in with a variety of problems (engine warning light, tire, brakes, etc.) and every time "fixing" it took more than one trip - would seem ok at first, them the problem would recur and they'd say it was something different. Last year when the same engine warning light came on for the fourth time I traded my car in as is and started fresh with a new car and a new repair place.

Dec 21, 2014
7 years ago
USED to *adore* them - went there faithfully for over ten years for three different cars - but since Bill has been gone it's a very different place. In the past they never failed to fix things right the first time or VERY rarely say they couldn't. More recently my husband and I took our cars in with a variety of problems (engine warning light, tire, brakes, etc.) and every time "fixing" it took more than one trip - would seem ok at first, them the problem would recur and they'd say it was something different. Last year when the same engine warning light came on for the fourth time I traded my car in as is and started fresh with a new car and a new repair place.

Feb 16, 2013
9 years ago
My husband and I have two cars with over 100k miles. So one of us always seems to be needing a repair.  Although we are in walking distance of a large chain repair garage where we had nightmarish experiences, we always drive the few extra miles to Schafer's.  Often we will leave the car the night before or super early in the morning.  Employees are very polite and seem to know their stuff.  Only once out of dozens of repairs have I had to go back because there was a small issue.  They also installed and expensive part that I had shopped around for online very reasonably. The upstairs waiting area though not exactly pretty has free wifi and a tv.   Currently the Oregon Diner has $10 off an oil change on their little paper place mats. Their coffee could use an upgrade, but I won't deduct stars since you're really not there for it!

Valerie M.
Feb 16, 2013
9 years ago
My husband and I have two cars with over 100k miles. So one of us always seems to be needing a repair. Although we are in walking distance of a large chain repair garage where we had nightmarish experiences, we always drive the few extra miles to Schafer's. Often we will leave the car the night before or super early in the morning. Employees are very polite and seem to know their stuff. Only once out of dozens of repairs have I had to go back because there was a small issue. They also installed and expensive part that I had shopped around for online very reasonably. The upstairs waiting area though not exactly pretty has free wifi and a tv. Currently the Oregon Diner has $10 off an oil change on their little paper place mats. Their coffee could use an upgrade, but I won't deduct stars since you're really not there for it!