Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.27 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5
421
4
28
3
10
2
16
1
117

Laurine Ucciferri
Jul 9, 2018
3 years ago
I have been going to Schafer's for sometime now. I trust Mike and his decisions regarding my vehicle. He's always been up front and honest and I recommended him to family and friends. Thanks Mike

Jun 6, 2018
3 years ago
Great place. The customer service has always been warm and welcoming. The staff is willing to explain things to make sure you fully understand your options.

May 31, 2018
3 years ago
Treat you good initially, screw you later. All kinds of work you didn't request marked on invoices and you get charged for them. Brake fluid flushes are unnecessary unless it is exposed to air and they did it every time I went. Just started with parts guarantee which mean all previous work I had done they won't stand by - very upsetting since I basically had my car rebuilt by these guys... Something that should last over 75,000-100,000 miles only lasted 2,000 miles at the most and they wouldn't back it up and didn't have a warranty on it. Nice to your face, but not on the bill... They marked down a bunch of crap I didn't request on a bill and when I questioned it, it turned out the one thing they said they did they didn't actually do and had to subtract it. I asked to have the manager on the phone and they said they couldn't reach him, yet when I persisted they magically got him on the line... Don't get screwed, go elsewhere. Went here for over 15 years, it was good when they would get paid for the quality of their work, now they get paid on commission. One time they had my car for nearly a month and kept failing to get the job done.... They screwed up my alarm system once too because they couldn't figure out the wires and then told me nothing about it until I got home to inspect it further. Also broke my oil cap, which they told me nothing about. They REALLY screwed up with they were supposed to do a timing belt change and did not reseal my engine with a new gasket and silicone and I had a bad leak because of it which caused my car to stall out in the middle of the street - I had to do a tune up because oil got in my spark plugs and everything! One time I had a ton of work done they were trying to tell me I had to replace a bunch of crap that wasn't even cost feasible and wasn't even an issue. I had a antifreeze leak, transmission leak, oil leak, I never fixed and when I went the last few times (past 2 years), none of these things were mentioned meaning they failed to let me know if they were leaking or not... that means you definitely can't trust them. It's a shame but it's true. Oh and Mike or George, don't bother with a response trying to reason, I won't be back and you don't need to try and explain yourselves trying to look professional and reputable. Highway robbery and horrible to customers, end of story.

May 30, 2018
3 years ago
-

Kevin Lauer
May 29, 2018
3 years ago
Excellent Service as Usual

anne l.
May 25, 2018
3 years ago
I am a loyal Schafer's customer and highly recommend them to anyone. I had previously thought that I'd always get the best service from the car dealer. Wrong! Service dept at my Toyota dealer told me I needed a new transmission (which was only 3 years old and had been replaced while under warranty). Took to Schafer's for a second opinion and they said no need for that. They did a $200 repair and 18 months later the transmission is still going strong. I really have come to trust them and would recommend them without reservation. They care.

May 20, 2018
3 years ago
Y'all. These folks are so nice. I got sent over from Pep Boys because I needed to check out a slowly leaking …More

May 19, 2018
3 years ago
Schafer's can not be trusted with major auto repairs! I took my car to Schafer's because it would hesitate while I was driving. I was charged $167 diagnostic fee which was not waived with work done. They fixed what they thought the problem was. The day I picked my car up I received a text later that day asking if my car were running ok (red flag for me) and to leave a review. I responded with so far it's ok and did not leave a review because based on the text message I didn't feel they were confident in the work performed on my car. I started having the same issues 2 days later. I returned and they performed another diagnostic to tell me it was a different issue with my vehicle and I had to go to the dealer for repair. How is it that I have the same hesitation I initially bought it in for but it's a different problem?? I believe the fact that I didn't have to pay the dealer for the repair they made(covered under extended warranty) had Michael under the impression I would overlook their error. I asked to have money refunded or to at least come to a mutual agreement but I was denied and told I had two separate issues with my car. They were good for my brake and oil change services but that's it!

May 16, 2018
4 years ago
Schafer's can not be trusted with major auto repairs! I took my car to Schafer's because it would hesitate while I was driving. I was charged $167 diagnostic fee which was not waived with work done. They fixed what they thought the problem was. The day I picked my car up I received a text later that day asking if my car were running ok (red flag for me) and to leave a review. I responded with so far it's ok and did not leave a review because based on the text message I didn't feel they were confident in the work performed on my car. I started having the same issues 2 days later. I returned and they performed another diagnostic to tell me it was a different issue with my vehicle and I had to go to the dealer for repair. How is it that I have the same hesitation I initially bought it in for but it's a different problem?? I believe the fact that I didn't have to pay the dealer for the repair they made(covered under extended warranty) had Michael under the impression I would overlook their error. I asked to have money refunded or to at least come to a mutual agreement but I was denied and told I had two separate issues with my car. They were good for my brake and oil change services but that's it!

May 15, 2018
4 years ago

May 4, 2018
4 years ago
From someone who is not very knowledgeable about cars, Schafer's Auto Center is the best! I always feels respected and never taken advantage of. The complementary inspection, Uber, and car wash do not hurt either. All of the employees are kind, helpful, and communicative. As long as I live in Philadelphia, I will not go anywhere else. Thank you!

Jacquelyn Fricke
Apr 18, 2018
4 years ago
I have gone to Schafer's for a bit now, and I wouldn't go anywhere else. They always give me the lowest cost and go the extra mile to find inexpensive versions of the parts I need. I am a college student with no idea about cars, so they were a saving grace to me. They also make sure my car is clean and looks good, and they have excellent people working. I don't have enough kind words for them. They also do free Ubers home which is so kind! They go the extra mile to be the best.

Apr 16, 2018
4 years ago
Schafer's is great! I have been going to them for almost 18 years ( minus a few while my Subaru was under warranty). I will always use them. They have always been fair and honest and the customer service has always been outstanding. They will order an Uber for you if waiting is not an option and the manager Michael will always make sure you are satisfied! Best place in Philly to have your car serviced.

Apr 16, 2018
4 years ago
They do a great job! I've been going to them for a couple of years now. They take great care of my VW!

Marcy L.
Apr 16, 2018
4 years ago
Schafer's is great! I have been going to them for almost 18 years ( minus a few while my Subaru was under warranty). I will always use them. They have always been fair and honest and the customer service has always been outstanding. They will order an Uber for you if waiting is not an option and the manager Michael will always make sure you are satisfied! Best place in Philly to have your car serviced.

Apr 14, 2018
4 years ago
Y'all. These folks are so nice. I got sent over from Pep Boys because I needed to check out a slowly leaking …More

Apr 14, 2018
4 years ago
I have been going to Schafers Auto for many years. The service is beyond exceptional. The Schafer team is honest, friendly and professional. They will explain every detail to you, so you have an understanding of what's going on with …More

Apr 14, 2018
4 years ago
I recently called Schafer’s based solely on proximity and Google reviews for an emergency repair. Two minutes later (literally - I’d called from the Walmart parking lot), I was in the waiting room with my car being looked at. The staff was …More

Apr 14, 2018
4 years ago
I've known the owner Mike for a number of years now when I came to get some aftermarket wheels and tires. Service here has always been spectacular. Very organized and close knit. Now there is a complimentary "vehicle health" inspection …More

Mary Accardo
Apr 12, 2018
4 years ago
I've been taking my car to to Schafer's for a few years now. Finding a reliable and trustworthy mechanic in the city has been difficult in the past and they never fail to exceed my expectations. They are thorough, explain car issues in a way I can understand, and help me prioritize what work needs to be done "now versus later". You can tell they care about their customers and aren't trying to make a quick buck. Friendly customer service, and they have coffee in their waiting area which is a plus!

Michael Russo
Apr 9, 2018
4 years ago
friendly, same day service, free car wash and uber ride also they were able to diagnose and fix my issue same day, sent a description and pics of the problem to my cell while I was at work.

Apr 6, 2018
4 years ago
I've been using Schafer's for almost 4 years now and I trust them implicitly. I've used them for PA inspections and routine services. Most recently, my brake light came on so I called on a Tuesday morning requesting a Wednesday am appointment and they were able to do so. The provided a complimentary uber ride to my job so I could leave my car (approximately a $15 uber ride). I thought I needed new front brakes but when George called, he said it was the brake pads and brake fluid. I felt i they really could have up-charged me, but they didn't. My car was ready when they said it would be. It feels good to know there is a trustworthy place in town! Will definitely Be back!

William Mccone
Mar 29, 2018
4 years ago
Mike and his team always take care of me and my family cars, We've been with them for years and will continue to take our card there.

Robert Petrucci
Mar 28, 2018
4 years ago
Great service and friendly people

Manjun Li
Mar 15, 2018
4 years ago
The store is big and nice. The staff here are warm hearted and really kind. At the same time, they are also very professional. They fixed the problem of my car successfully. It 's a really good place to go if ur car has some problems.

Mar 8, 2018
4 years ago

Kat V.
Feb 28, 2018
4 years ago
These guys are the best! Super friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. They really care about their customers. I won't be taking my car anywhere else after working with Schafer Auto!

Feb 28, 2018
4 years ago
These guys are the best! Super friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. They really care about their customers. I won't be taking my car anywhere else after working with Schafer Auto!

Feb 27, 2018
4 years ago
good service and very polite

Feb 27, 2018
4 years ago
Great service! We will be back!