Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.53 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5
207
4
6
3
1
2
0
1
7

May 1, 2022
2 weeks ago
I just had my exhaust manifold done here on a dodge 1500 5.7L! I had it worked on elsewhere and was FAR from pleased. Matthews looked at it, was very honest, and got it repaired ASAP. I picked up my truck and it sounded amazing. I could NOT be any happier with there knowledge/service. Great job guys! I appreciate it. Service: Exhaust

Jan 8, 2022
4 months ago
Services: Tires, Oil change, General repairs & maintenance Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Jan 8, 2022
4 months ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality Matthews Automotive was very kind to my wife in the past when she was traveling traveling through Salem and had a leak in one of her tires. She stopped at their shop and they fixed her tire right away without charging her for their repair. …More

Jan 8, 2022
4 months ago
Positive: Quality, Value I have used Matthews Automotive to take care of my car for a number of years. I always have a positive experience. Adam and his team take very good care of me and my car. I immediately was given a loaner car to use last week. I knew within …More

Nov 8, 2021
6 months ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality Matthews Automotive is always busy but the service is always great and the work is done properly. They will always take the time to explain before anything is done and will answer any questions regarding any service. The place runs like a well oiled machine...as long as Naomi is there.... Service: Tires

Nov 8, 2021
6 months ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value This was my first time visiting Matthews Automotive. I had made an appointment for an oil change and NYS inspection. I was blown away on how ready they were to assist me and the professionalism was top notch. They even took the time to get …More

Sep 8, 2021
8 months ago
I appreciate that i can trust the service I receive when i go there. Adam and his staff go out iof their way to get your vehicle repaired so your time without one is minimal. I also recommend them for the Krown undercoating. I did it …More

Aug 9, 2021
9 months ago
great they get us right in and out the same day. Service: General repairs & maintenance

Aug 6, 2021
9 months ago
Accurate diagnosis. Excellent service.

Jul 29, 2021
9 months ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value We had lost our keys to our car and we had to go to the dealership to get new ones but there still was a problem because the keys had to be programmed but none of the dealerships could touch them for a week or so but Matthews Automotive …More

D V
Jul 22, 2021
9 months ago
Positive: Professionalism, Quality, Value Showed up 5 minutes after closing on a Friday night. I had a tire failure and was not an existing customer. They treated me like I had been a customer for 20 years. He opened the shop back up and fixed my tire in record time. I was right back on the road. Friendly, courteous, professional and fair. Highly recommend. Service: Tires

Jul 15, 2021
10 months ago
Great service! Fast, knowledgeable, and efficient

Jul 8, 2021
10 months ago
Services: Auto engine diagnostic, Electrical repair, Tires, Wheel alignment, Steering & suspension repair, Brakes, Engine repair, Air & cabin filter replacement, Electrical, Exhaust, General repairs & maintenance, Transmission

Orris L.
Jul 7, 2021
10 months ago
I stopped in after 5 pm as my Volvo tire pressure was low from a long trip. They added air to tires at no charge so I could return to CT safely. Thank you for your help in a pinch! I would highly recommend Matthews to anyone with auto needs in the upstate NY area.

Jul 5, 2021
10 months ago
Service: General repairs & maintenance Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Jun 20, 2021
10 months ago
Services: Engine repair, General repairs & maintenance, Air conditioning, Tires, A/c installation & repair, Wheel alignment, Battery, Transmission, Oil change, Brakes, Tuning Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Jun 20, 2021
10 months ago
Positive: Professionalism Communication is respectful, service is well done, and the staff really cares about their customers. We're lucky to have a garage of this quality in our small town. Services: General repairs & maintenance, Tires, Oil change

Jun 20, 2021
10 months ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value I knew my car needed a thorough going over, and that’s exactly what I got. Driving felt different when I left. I felt safer. Thanks, Matthews Automotive! Services: Wheel alignment, Tires, Oil change

Jun 8, 2021
11 months ago
Service: Brakes Positive: Professionalism, Value

Jun 5, 2021
11 months ago
Service: Brakes Positive: Professionalism, Value

May 24, 2021
11 months ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism Communication is respectful, service is well done, and the staff really cares about their customers. We're lucky to have a garage of this quality in our small town.

May 24, 2021
11 months ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value I knew my car needed a thorough going over, and that’s exactly what I got. Driving felt different when I left. I felt safer. Thanks, Matthews Automotive!

May 22, 2021
11 months ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Value

May 19, 2021
11 months ago
NEW Positive: Punctuality, Quality Matthews Automotive is always busy but the service is always great and the work is done properly. They will always take the time to explain before anything is done and will answer any questions regarding any service. The place runs like a well oiled machine.

May 15, 2021
1 year ago
Services: Oil change, Wheel alignment Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

May 5, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Quality Very impressed with my last minute service request, loaner car at the ready, excellent customer service. Thank you so much! Service: General repairs & maintenance

Apr 26, 2021
1 year ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Apr 20, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value Always friendly and helpful- best place to do business. Services: Tires, Wheel alignment, Oil change, Brakes, General repairs & maintenance

Apr 20, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value This is a great repair shop. The staff is friendly, and always willing to go the extra mile. Would recommend to anyone. Services: Brakes, General repairs & maintenance, Tires, Oil change

Apr 20, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value Been with Matthew's since I moved up here almost 3 years now and drive over 13 miles past 3 autorepair stations for Matthew's. If you want professional workmanship. Honest answers and fair prices...drive the extra miles and check out Matthew's Automotive in Salem, NY. You'll be glad you did...I was!!! Services: Brakes, Wheel alignment, Body & Trim, General repairs & maintenance, Tires, Steering / Suspension, Engine repair, Oil change, Transmission

Apr 5, 2021
1 year ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value This is a great repair shop. The staff is friendly, and always willing to go the extra mile. Would recommend to anyone.

Apr 1, 2021
1 year ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value They are always prompt and courteous. It never feels like we are being pressured to fix what isn’t broken and they are always good at problem solving to help save us money. Excellent small town work and values. Thank you!

Mar 27, 2021
1 year ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value Been with Matthew's since I moved up here almost 3 years now and drive over 13 miles past 3 autorepair stations for Matthew's. If you want professional workmanship. Honest answers and fair prices...drive the extra miles and check out Matthew's Automotive in Salem, NY. You'll be glad you did...I was!!!

Mar 15, 2021
1 year ago
Services: Oil change, General repairs & maintenance Positive: Professionalism, Quality, Value

Mar 13, 2021
1 year ago
NEW Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Mar 12, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Mar 5, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value Pays personal attention to vehicle needs protecting the life of the vehicle as well as inconvenience to me. Took time to explain specific operating procedures that are different from other vehicles I operate. Thank you Adam and Naomi for watching out for me.

Feb 26, 2021
1 year ago
Adam and staff- amazing and and can not thank enough for being so responsive and efficient! …More

Feb 22, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value Great service!

Feb 21, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Quality, Value

Feb 5, 2021
1 year ago
Services: Air & Cabin Filter, Oil change Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Jan 30, 2021
1 year ago
Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Value

Jan 27, 2021
1 year ago
Great experience bringing a 2006 Subaru and a 2000 Jimmy to Matthews. Speedy service on the oil change for the Subaru and quick turnaround to fix a brake control issue on the Jimmy. Honest and knowledgeable owner will give you straight and thorough answers. We will definitely be back.

Sep 5, 2020
1 year ago
Amazing service and awesome people. Honest, fair, and highly skilled. Services: Air conditioning, Tires, Oil change, General repairs & maintenance, Engine repair, Tuning, Brakes, Battery

Aug 27, 2020
1 year ago
Amazing service and awesome people. Honest, fair, and highly skilled.

Aug 20, 2020
1 year ago
Amazing service and awesome people. Honest, fair, and highly skilled. Services: Oil change, General repairs & maintenance, Tuning, Battery, Engine repair, Tires, Air conditioning, Brakes

Aug 18, 2020
1 year ago
Amazing service and awesome people. Honest, fair, and highly skilled. Services: Brakes, Oil change, Air conditioning, General repairs & maintenance, Tires, Engine repair, Battery, Tuning