Our Reviews


Average User Rating

4.49 / 5

Rating Breakdown

5
313
4
23
3
0
2
7
1
29

Martha B.
Jan 19, 1970
52 years ago
I booked an online appointment for some rather desperate brake work. Shawn and his team were honest, easy to deal with, and had me in and out same day (2 days after I booked) at a reasonable rate. Since I am hard on my brakes, this was not my first rodeo with this. I really appreciated that they only suggested the work that NEEDED to be done as opposed to trying to talk me into doing my front brakes and rotors as well. I also got a follow up text message and a warranty on work. I will be back if I have other work for my car!

Sonia P.
Jan 18, 1970
52 years ago
If you value your life, money, car and time do NOT take your car here because their negligence will cost you. Even after approaching them privately to resolve the matter, they take zero responsibility. RESPONSE to the owner: After the damage that I have seen with the car, I would never have you guys touch it ever again. You butchered it. Also considering we have emailed you detailed responses every time yet you continue to respond to us in a very defensive and vague manner is unacceptable. It shows you are unwilling to take responsibility as well as your unwillingness to understand. We are not unreasonable people, if you would just respond to us as people instead of providing us with these generic answers it wouldn't be so difficult and frustrating.

Robert P.
Jan 18, 1970
52 years ago
I had a truly horrible experience with SAP that is still ongoing. It begins at the end of April. We previously took our car to SAP for an oil change and my wife was very happy with the experience. Friendly and good customer service. We needed new shocks and struts in my 2008 Mazda so we decided to take it back there for the service. We dropped it off April 24th. After they examined the car they also suggested we replace the drivers side front axle and the lower control arms on the front and rear. We were told it should be done by the end of the day of Wednesday, April 26th. On the 26th we were told it was almost finished and they just needed to do an alignment before the end of the day. Finally on Friday the 28th we are told its almost done (I can't recall the exact circumstances why). At the end of the day Friday we are told that the passenger side front strut was blown out of the box and they had to order another one and they would install it on Saturday. Saturday rolls around. We decide to wait around for the car, since we have a million errands to run. We call at 12/1/2/3/4/5. No answer. Finally the owner calls us back at 5:45pm and claims he has been waiting around all day for the part and it didn't arrive. Interesting that he was waiting around all day and managed to miss our phone calls for nearly 6 hours. Monday comes - part doesn't arrive until the end of the day so it's not installed. Tuesday comes - part is installed, but oh, they suddenly found out that another part needed to be replaced and they don't want it to leave the shop unless its perfect. So that's another $250. Wednesday - waiting on next part to arriv Thursday - they get the part late in the day Friday - car is done. We go to pick it up, they cover the rental car but surprise, surprise the only thing they didn't charge labor on is the mystery part that they just noticed on Tuesday. So that's the end of part 1. We drive the car, it seems okay initially but after a couple weeks we start to notice noises again. Not being car people, we assume this is just because it's an old car and since SAP did all that work it should be fine. Fast forward to 6/18 we are driving a couple hours from Baltimore and suddenly the car begins jerking and AT lights are coming on. We get to the Glen Burnie area and are scared to drive it any further, so we had it towed for free by AAA to a nearby mechanic. The primary problem with the car turned out to be the Transmission Control Unit which I am not holding SAP responsible for in any way. What did happen is when they went to diagnose this is they called me and asked "Have you had recent repair work done? The frontend of this car is a mess, we've never seen anything like that." - after that they gave me a list of all the issues they came across that SAP had caused (they are the only ones who have ever done any frontend work to my car). 1) When they installed the new struts, they used two different brands. One high quality, one cheap. The cheap one already blew out in a little over a month. 2) The axle that was installed on the drivers side was installed using an incorrect and unsafe bolt.. He also pointed out that the sleeve on the axle was stretched to it's farthest point. He showed me the axle on the passenger side, where the sleeve was very relaxed. They believe that SAP installed the wrong axle for my car (not long enough) and that they had to force it in there. 3) The driver's side axle seal was busted and leaking transmission fluid 4) There were missing pins on both outer tie rod ends 5) The axle boot had been torn on the passenger side, causing grease to shoot all over the inside of the car. 6) The steering knuckle had damage caused by a torch on the passenger side. 7) There was damage to the bearing mount on the passenger side axle. 8) They said the alignment was way off (SAP did an alignment as part of the work) After reading the list above, any reasonable person would understand that I would never in a million years let SAP touch my car again. So I reached out to them and attempted to resolve this. In the initial reply, Shawn Price the owner attempted to deny any responsibility and straight up lied to me (said that was the correct bolt for the axle, denied the missing pins, attempted to deny the clear damage by saying they didn't touch that part of the car (they did). He also said "I should have come to them instead of another shop" aka they didn't want us to find their shoddy work. When my car is driving dangerously and I'm with my pregnant wife, SAP isn't exactly the first thing on my mind. I replied multiple times letting them know we would never be comfortable having them touch our car again after the butcher job they did and their follow up emails were generic and impersonal. Total costs: SAP's work: $2500 Repair work done by the other mechanics: $1,942 Rental car for 2 weeks: $550 Avoid like the plague. Shady, poor communicators and horrible mechanics. Don't make my mistake.

Ajani P.
Jan 18, 1970
52 years ago
I recently relocated to the area and needed to find a mechanic. I travel for work so my car takes a beating. After my fair share of bad experiences my coworker recommended me to SAP Automotive. I'm not up on the "car jargon" but those guys made it easy. Honest and professional service. Definitely will be a repeat customer!

Aye Z.
Jan 18, 1970
52 years ago
This is the only place I would take my car in Baltimore. I trust them and have no problem paying for quality service which they truly provide. I had been to the Comprehensive Auto Care in Mt. Vernon, and they tried to charge me over $200 for ONE tire. I went to Walmart and they damaged my car and took no responsibility. SAP has been reliable, responsive, I've left my car and key there overnight and got a call first thing in the morning with diagnosis. Quality service, quality people. Don't bother going elsewhere.

Ash F.
Jan 18, 1970
52 years ago
This is the best auto shop in town. After my car broke down I had it towed to the dealership and found out I needed my timing chain replaced which is a huge job (essentially need to take apart the entire engine to replace it). I called around desperately trying to find a more reasonable quote only to find out that most places wouldn't even do the job and the two other places that would do it told me they wouldn't be able to get to it until "next week"! SAP's quote was not only fair but they would get started working on it immediately and even towed my car from the dealership to their shop while I was at work. The service, while slower than expected/estimated by over a week (though as mentioned this is a HUGE job), was meticulous and professional. My bill understandably increased a bit because they had to tweak a few additional things but I still ended up paying over $700 less than the dealership estimate. They even billed the additional parts that weren't on my initial estimate without a markup. I have since driven my car over 300 miles and it is running smoothly! Very happy with my experience here and would certainly come back for any car issue big or small.

Jessica B.
Jan 18, 1970
52 years ago
One of the belts snapped on my car and I was stranded. So I went to Yelp, sorted for the *most* reviews then chose the company that had the highest rating. They didn't answer the phone lol. Then I chose SAP, which had the second highest rating. A friendly, upbeat young lady answered the phone, and things just went up from there. Had my car towed to the shop and had one of the best mechanic shop experiences I've had since I've been driving. I'm not from Baltimore, I know nothing about cars, and I'm always super worried that a mechanic will overcharge me. So, before I got towed to SAP, I got an unbiased mechanic to take a look and tell me how much I should expect to pay. And much to my delight, SAP was exactly within that price point! What a relief! Besides that, the customer service was superb, everyone was super nice. You can tell they enjoy working at SAP, and they really enjoy working with each other. Also, they send text alerts and updates for the work, which is a cool service. I have officially found my go to mechanic in Baltimore. Thanks Yelp! And thanks SAP! :)

Valentina V.
Jan 17, 1970
52 years ago
I was so impressed with this auto repair shop! Shakir quickly figured out what was wrong with my car despite the fact that I couldn't describe the noise well and my car wouldn't do it for him when he tested it. He was very kind and clearly trustworthy and I felt like I received a great price for the repair. In fact, they even offered me a ride to work or home while they fixed my car, really incredible! Don't be fooled by the industrial-appearing location... everyone I encountered here was a complete professional! HIGHLY recommended!!

Regan R.
Jan 17, 1970
52 years ago
Stumbled upon a groupon for a $15 oil change so I decided to purchase and check it out. I absolutely hate going to jiffy lube and places like that because they always try to hassle me into things that I don't need because I'm a woman and they assume I don't know any better, so anywhere is better than that. The only reason it's not 5 stars is because it's a little difficult to find and not in the best area, but that wouldn't stop be from going again. They were extremely accommodating, considering I was late after getting lost. Got in and out of there pretty quickly, and the gentleman helping me out was great. Definitely recommend, and I believe the groupon is still available! Oh, also, I did end up paying $7 for a disposal fee which isn't included in the groupon, so be prepared for that, but it was no big deal.

Kat J.
Jan 17, 1970
52 years ago
The heat shield under the car came loose on our way back from VA. We heard this sickening crunching sound of metal hitting the ground as we were driving down the highway. We decided to exit the highway in order to take a look at the cause. Unfortunately, we could not retrieve the jack from the trunk and there was no way we can get the heat shield off on our own. I called around to a few mechanics close by and they were all closed on Sundays. Thankfully, SAP was open and they agreed to let us come in without appointments. They figured out the issue immediately and got to work. The super friendly woman (I think she was the receptionist?) showed me to the air conditioned waiting room, while the bf deals with the mechanics. She also came to get me when the car was nearly ready. They were only able to remove the shield, as they don't have the part to replace it, but that was good enough for us to get on our way. I never write reviews for mechanics, but this was honestly one of the most pleasant experiences we had at a mechanic. They were transparent with pricing up front, fast, friendly and we were on our way within 20 minutes. I actually wish we lived close-by so that they can take care of all of our car needs. Highly recommend!!

Charles B.
Jan 17, 1970
52 years ago
After the engine died in my wife's sport utility, she and I were reluctant to buy something new (the car is a true BEAST --in the best sense of the word-- in driving conditions that demand 4-wheel drive). After calling around, I was disappointed in the options for engine replacement closer to where I live (somewhere in New England), and we didn't want to break the piggy bank in the process. I was recommended to this shop by a family member, who has personally known the proprietor for many years. So, after getting a very pleasing quote, I towed the car the hundreds of miles to his shop to get the work done. The shop's web site lists the business motto, which is basically The Golden Rule: "Treat others the way you would like to be treated." I'm very pleased to say that I experienced first-hand the fair treatment, integrity, respect, and courtesy that this motto implies. The owner is highly knowledgeable and an expert on probably any sort of car, any make. He's also an absolutely fussy PERFECTIONIST about doing the work correctly, down to the detail. The engine replacement was done in a reasonable period of time, and my experience with S.A.P. Automotive was uneventful: the job was thoroughly completed and beyond what I expected, and I drove the newly-repaired car back home with no incidents at all, very pleased with the work. Big plus: Neither he or any of his staff tried selling my wife or me on things the car didn't need. Highly recommended.

Valerie B.
Jan 16, 1970
52 years ago
I'm relatively new to the area and ran into some car trouble that needed to be dealt with quick. A google search and some calling around to places close to me, I stumbled up SAP automotive. I had my car towed there and the tow truck driver said he never dealt with these people but I should be very careful because the area is kind of ghetto (it's not the best but the driver was being overly dramatic.). As as female, I'm always a little wary that garages I'm not familiar with are going to try to bone me. This place is wonderful. They were quick, they were accommodating, they explained everything to me about what was wrong with my car and what needed to be done to fix it. They had to order some parts and they even walked me through the process of ordering them and talked over my options so I could get the best deal. Shawn (The 'S' in S.A.P) is great. He's super polite and so is his staff. They even insisted on giving me a ride home even after I said I would walk (It's only 2 miles away). This will definitely be my 'go-to' garage as long as I'm local. Thanks guys!

Dave A.
Jan 16, 1970
52 years ago
Remember that hurricane that blew through Baltimore a few months ago? Well, the next morning, I couldn't put my car in drive. The only garage open in my area was S.A.P. even though they didn't have power. Anyways, AAA towed my car there (they arrived in about 30 min). The mechanic there kept the car overnight and had it fixed about a day later. It turns out that my break springs were broken and needed replacing. Jamal (I think that was his name) did not try to upsell me on getting new brake pads or anything. The whole job cost about $200 (I've never paid less than $500 for any other repairs). The reason why I am deducting one star is because the garage is dirty and cluttered which can potentially lead to mistakes (e.g. them losing my keys when I came to pick up the car). I'll try them for an oil change and see how it goes.

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 34 reviews

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
view

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 18 reviews · 48 photos

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
eviews

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
eviews

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 14 reviews · 1 photo

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
views

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 112 reviews · 97 photos

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
views

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
views

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
view

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 28 reviews · 4 photos

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
views

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 13 reviews · 16 photos

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
views

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 10 reviews · 13 photos

Nov 30, -0001
2022 years ago
l Guide · 75 reviews · 65 photos